Double Tax Treaty Update

2013年 12月 20日

Double Tax Treaty Update

Ireland has signed comprehensive double taxation agreements with over 70 countries, of which 64 are in effect.

It should be noted that a range of Irish domestic law exemptions from Irish tax are available immediately once the treaty is signed.

Ireland signed a new treaty with Thailand on 4 November 2013. This will come into force once the procedures required by law in each country have been completed.

The Ireland/Ukraine double tax agreement signed in April 2013 will be effective from 1 January in the year following the exchange of the notification of ratification documents between both cabinets. The Irish Cabinet recently completed their ratification process as part of the enactment of Finance (No.2) Act 2013.

Negotiations for new agreements with Azerbaijan, Jordan and Tunisia are at various stages while negotiations are on-going for the revision of existing agreements with Pakistan and the Netherlands.

For further information please speak with your usual Maples and Calder contact.

Back to the top


Search filters
Sign up to receive our articles, newsletters and news alerts.